Moon

‘I plunged my fingers into the lithic surface.It was so worn out and soft that it crumbled in my hands. Our Moon’s surface looked stable with burnt edges but it took little force to reduce it to mere powder.I grappled.My helmet protecting me from the Moon’s remains as I edged ever closer to the crater.

A cavity burrowed into the ground of the Moon,which no creature of human origin could have created. It was hollow but sturdy with a platinum tinge to it. It made me feel safe … for a while.

So here I am struggling to survive. I’m looking out for monsters and other repugnant beasts. Though I would much prefer them as their nature is clear unlike my manipulative brothers back on Earth.Their malicious intent revealed at times of desperation.

As I thought of Earth I decided to look back .Earth reminded me of a blown out candle, it gave us light it gave us hope, but we decided that we no longer needed it. So we strived to destroy the only thing we needed to stay alive. Along with every tree we chopped and every drop we polluted our oceans, a piece of our soul was removed, till we were nothing.Roaming the Earth like ghosts with memories of our disillusioned past.

I have heard tales of creatures that have done unimaginable things to people who stray the galaxy helpless. They can engulf humans and take on their form, the ultimate immersion.That’s what makes them hard to spot. ‘-Shaza

Short story , I wrote it for a prompt.

Leave a Reply

